Calne Town Council
About Calne Town Council
Calne is divided into four areas called wards:
Chilvester & Abberd Ward
North Ward
South Ward
Central Ward
Calne Town Council is served by 19 Councillors. Each ward has four to five Councillors, with one Councillor from each ward also elected to Wiltshire Council in addition to Calne Town Council.
Councillors attend Full Council meetings in the Town Hall and sit on at least one of the following committees:
Amenities Committee - looks after spaces and facilities including the Town Hall, Curzon Street Cemetery and Beversbrook Sports & Community Facility.
Policy & Resources Committee - responsible for all aspects of policy making, financial and staffing matters and awards grants to support local organisations.
Town Development & Planning Committee - discusses the Town Council’s response to planning applications and items such as public transport and car parking.


You could become a Councillor

Do you know what matters to your neighbours? Are you looking for a worthwhile and rewarding way to help your local community?
Anyone is eligible to be elected as a Councillor provided they:

Are 18 years or older

Are a British/EU citizen

Live within three miles of the parish (within twelve months of an election), or have land or a business in the parish

Being an effective Councillor requires both commitment and hard work, and includes:

Representing your ward and responding to enquiries from constituents


Developing and reviewing council policy

Community leadership and engagement




Calne Town Council
Bank House
The Strand
SN11 0EN


© 2015 Calne Town Council | Powered by InTouch CRM
Members' Area